Activity

Laureate 1995
Yves Oltramare

1995 Prize awarded to Yves Oltramare, banker and philanthropist

Friday 24 November 1995 at 5 pm, Aula Uni-Bastions, Geneva

On November 24, 1995, in the aula des Bastions at the University of Geneva, Yves Oltramare received the Foundation Prize for Geneva to the ovations of several hundred people during a ceremony attended by the Geneva authorities.

Yves Oltramare participated in the creation of a number of institutions, notably the Louis-Jeantet Foundation and the new Foundation “A Future for Geneva” which supports the efforts of the Swiss and Geneva authorities to promote our city in its international dimension. He has also worked in favor of the Salvation Army as well as for many of Geneva’s major cultural institutions, including the Grand Théâtre, the Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, the Musée d’art et d’histoire and the Musée Barbier Müller.

In addition to his banking activities, Yves Oltramare has worked for many years, far from the limelight, to encourage the spiritual, humanitarian and intellectual influence of Geneva. He has always seen Geneva as a privileged place for dialogue and exchange, a place, as he recalled in the aula of the Bastions, “of convergence between all the questions and potentialities of the world’s multiple cultures”.

The Fondation pour Genève, in awarding him this prize, “wishes, beyond the well-deserved tribute it pays to this personality, to honor all those who, […] often in the shadows and almost anonymously, without any spirit of return, work to keep the spirit of Geneva alive.”

FPG Network

Foundation Prize

Lauréat 1995
Yves Oltramare

Prix 1995 remis à Yves Oltramare, banquier et philanthrope

Vendredi 24 novembre 1995 à 17h, Aula Uni-Bastions, Genève

Le 24 novembre 1995, dans l’aula des Bastions à l’Université de Genève, Yves Oltramare a reçu le Prix de la Fondation pour Genève sous les ovations de plusieurs centaines de personnes lors d’une cérémonie en présence des Autorités genevoises.

Yves Oltramare a participé à la création de quantité d’institutions notamment la Fondation Louis-Jeantet et la nouvelle Fondation « Un avenir pour Genève » qui soutient les efforts que les autorités helvétiques et genevoises déploient pour promouvoir notre cité dans sa dimension internationale. Il a aussi œuvré en faveur de l’Armée du Salut ainsi que pour de nombreuses grandes institutions culturelles genevoises parmi lesquels on peut citer le Grand Théâtre, l’Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, le Musée d’art et d’histoire ou encore le Musée Barbier Müller.

A côté de ses activités de banquiers, Yves Oltramare œuvre depuis de nombreuses années, loin des feux de la rampe, pour encourager le rayonnement spirituel, humanitaire et intellectuel de Genève. Il a toujours perçu Genève comme un lieu privilégié de dialogue et d’échanges, un lieu, comme il l’a rappelé dans l’aula des Bastions, « de convergences entre toutes les interrogations et les potentialités des multiples cultures du monde ».

La Fondation pour Genève, en lui attribuant ce prix, « désire, au-delà de l’hommage combien mérité qu’elle rend à cette personnalité, honorer également tous ceux, qui, […] souvent dans l’ombre et de façon quasi anonyme, sans esprit de retour, travaillent à faire vivre l’esprit de Genève. »

FPG Network