l'histoire - Fondation pour Genève l'histoire - Fondation pour Genève

The history of the Foundation

45 years at the service of International Geneva

The Fondation pour Genève was created in 1976 by a group of Geneva personalities wishing to contribute to the reputation of Geneva in Switzerland and in the world. The first edition of the Foundation’s Prize was organized in 1978. Subsequently, the Foundation developed a whole series of initiatives aimed at facilitating the reception of internationals, with the desire still intact today to strengthen the links between international Geneva and local Geneva.

History

1976 - 1997: the beginnings of the Foundation

The Fondation pour Genève was created in 1976 by Marcel A. Naville, Jean-Flavien Lalive, Robert Vieux, Pierre Siclounoff and Jean Babel. Their goal: to promote the influence of Geneva in Switzerland and abroad. Marcel A. Naville, a banker and former President of the ICRC, took over as President.

The Director General of the United Nations Office in Geneva, Vittorio Winspeare-Giucciardi, was awarded the first Fondation pour Genève Prize in 1978.

In 1986, the Fondation pour Genève inherited the fortune of Georges Junod, a citizen of Vaud residing in Geneva. The Georges Junod Fund, which helps elderly people in need, was created at the request of the deceased.

1998 : the merge with "Un Avenir pour Genève

In 1998, the Fondation pour Genève merged with the Fondation Un Avenir pour Genève and appointed Ivan Pictet as President. Un Avenir pour Genève had been created in 1994 by Yves Oltramare and Ivan Pictet. The aim of this foundation, chaired by Arthur Dunkel, former Director General of GATT, was to develop a strategic vision for international Geneva in a concerted manner. It has greatly contributed to giving life to the public-private partnership in favor of international Geneva. One of its most important initiatives was the launch of "Geneva Tomorrow", an initiative to raise awareness of International Geneva among all the sectors of activity concerned with hosting.

1998-2002: the first years of Ivan Pictet's presidency

Under the presidency of Ivan Pictet, the Fondation pour Genève is pursuing the "Genève Demain" awareness-raising process, the highlight of which is the organization of the symposium "Let's build the Geneva of Tomorrow" at the Palais des Nations. 200 people took part and agreed on a series of actions to be implemented from 1999 onwards to develop the framework conditions of international Geneva. The secretariat of the Foundation for Geneva was then directed by Tatjana Darani.

Among the highlights of her first years as President, the Fondation pour Genève co-organized with the United Nations Office in Geneva an open weekend at the Palais des Nations, as well as the "Geneva 2000" evening, on the occasion of the UN Special General Assembly on Economic and Social Development.

In 1999, Daisy Pictet and Christiane Steck created the Cercle Genevois-Conjoints de Diplomates, which later became the International Circle of the Foundation for Geneva.

2002-2010: a rich palette of activities

Ivan Pictet handed over the presidency of the Fondation pour Genève to Guillaume Pictet in 2002. The Foundation participates in the awareness campaign in favor of Swiss membership in the UN.

In the 2000s, the Fondation pour Genève became associated with international organizations and co-organized several anniversaries and open days.

- 2004: Participation in the 50th anniversary of CERN.

- 2005: Partnership with the United Nations Office in Geneva around the 60th anniversary of the United Nations.

- 2009 : Participation in the awareness campaign in favor of the World Trade Organization (WTO) and the extension of its building.

In 2006, the Fondation pour Genève participated in the launch by Mandat International and the Department of Public Education of the "Eduki" program on international Geneva for students in the orientation cycle and secondary schools.

In 2007, the Fondation pour Genève publishes and distributes the first Cahier de l'Observatoire, "Soft Gouvernance", dedicated to paradigm shifts in global governance.

In 2008, the Fondation pour Genève took the Diplomatic Club of Geneva under its aegis and participated in its renewal, alongside the federal and Geneva authorities.

In 2009, Guillaume Pictet handed over the presidency to Ivan Pictet.

2010 - 2022: a national scope

The Fondation pour Genève continues to support the Open Days of international organizations, the United Nations (2014 and 2017) and the International Labor Office (2019).

In 2013, the Observatory of the Fondation pour Genève launched a series of studies on the impact of international Geneva on the Lake Geneva region and, as of 2019, a series devoted to the poles of excellence of international Geneva.

On the occasion of the bicentenary of Geneva's entry into the Swiss Confederation in 2015, the Fondation pour Genève organized the "Geneva meets the Swiss" tour to present the work of the international organizations based in Geneva to the Swiss population. Geneva presented itself, for one day, in 43 Swiss cities as well as in Vaduz in Liechtenstein.

The Foundation is also committed to raising awareness of the 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), established in 2015 by the United Nations, through a traveling exhibition.

Ivan Pictet will leave the Foundation for Geneva in 2020 after having led it for nearly 20 years. Marc Pictet will succeed him.

History of the FPG Network

Le Cercle International

In 1999, Daisy Pictet and Christiane Steck created the Cercle Genevois-Conjoints de Diplomates. 60 Genevan women were mobilized to welcome the spouses of diplomats.

Françoise Demole and Pierrette Waldvogel launched the "Multi.Rencontres" group in 2003, aimed at the wives of the directors of multinational companies. In 2007, the group had about 100 participants from the international private sector.

In 2008, the Cercle Genevois-Conjoints de Diplomates merged with the Multi.Rencontres group and took the name "Cercle des Conjoints". It is aimed at spouses of diplomats and CEOs of multinational companies.

Florence Notter-Daugny takes over the presidency of the Cercle des Conjoints in 2010. New members succeed the founders to animate the different activity groups.

The Circle of Spouses changes its name in 2012 and becomes the "International Circle of the Foundation for Geneva". Its aim is to facilitate the integration of internationals into the life of Geneva and is intended for professionally active women. In 2021, the Circle will also be open to men and will propose new activities.

Le Club Diplomatique de Genève

The Club Diplomatique de Genève was created in 1976 on the initiative of young diplomats wishing to establish links with international personalities visiting Geneva.

In 2008, the Fondation pour Genève gave a new start to the Diplomatic Club, with the patronage of the Federal and Geneva authorities and the United Nations Office in Geneva. It moved to the Pastorale and its Secretariat was provided by the Fondation pour Genève. The former State Councillor Carlo Lamprecht was elected President. A first event is organized at CERN, followed two months later by a dinner with the UN Secretary General Ban Ki-Moon.

Former Swiss Ambassador Raymond Loretan succeeds Ambassador Luzius Wasescha as President in 2016. The Club becomes operationally autonomous with its own secretariat, now headed by its committee.

Le Réseau d’accueil

In 1999, Diane Zoelly set up a group of volunteers called the "Welcome Network" to develop various activities to improve the integration of newcomers to international Geneva. The Welcome Line and the Language Exchange Exchange were launched by the volunteer members of the Fondation pour Genève.
The first Escalade festival for internationals was organized in 2003 on the La Pastorale estate.

In 2007, the Welcome Network was transferred to the CAGI, which now coordinates it with the support of 30 volunteers from the Fondation pour Genève.

In 2020, Diane Zoelly handed over the presidency of the Welcome Network to Juliette van Berchem.

Fondation Eduki

In 2006, the Fondation pour Genève participated in the launch by Mandat International and the Department of Public Education of the "Eduki" program on international Geneva for students of the Cycle d'orientation and secondary schools.

From 2014, the Foundation supports the development of the Eduki Foundation. The presidency is entrusted to Martine Brunschwig Graf, former National Councillor.

In 2022, Martine Brunschwig Graf will hand over the presidency to Francine de Planta.

FPG Network

l'histoire - Fondation pour Genève l'histoire - Fondation pour Genève

L'histoire de la Fondation

Plus de 45 ans au service de la Genève internationale

La Fondation pour Genève a été créée en 1976 par un groupe de personnalités genevoises souhaitant contribuer au renom de Genève en Suisse et dans le monde. La première édition du Prix de la Fondation est organisée en 1978. Par la suite, la Fondation développe toute une série d’initiatives visant à faciliter l’accueil des internationaux, avec la volonté toujours intacte aujourd’hui de renforcer les liens entre la Genève internationale et la Genève locale.

 

Historique

1976 - 1997 : les débuts de la Fondation

La Fondation pour Genève est créée en 1976 par Marcel A. Naville, Jean-Flavien Lalive, Robert Vieux, Pierre Siclounoff et Jean Babel. Leur but : promouvoir le rayonnement de Genève en Suisse et à l‘étranger. Marcel A. Naville, banquier et ancien Président du CICR, en prend la présidence.

Le Directeur général de l’Office des Nations Unies à Genève Vittorio Winspeare-Giucciardi se voit décerner en 1978 le premier Prix de la Fondation pour Genève.

En 1986, la Fondation pour Genève hérite de la fortune de Georges Junod, un citoyen vaudois résidant à Genève. Sur volonté du défunt, le Fonds Georges Junod, venant en aide aux personnes âgées dans le besoin, est constitué.

1998 : la fusion avec « Un Avenir pour Genève »

La Fondation pour Genève fusionne en 1998 avec la Fondation Un Avenir pour Genève et désigne Ivan Pictet comme Président. Un Avenir pour Genève avait été créé en 1994 par Yves Oltramare et Ivan Pictet. Le but de cette fondation, présidée par Arthur Dunkel, ancien Directeur général du GATT, était de développer de manière concertée une vision stratégique pour la Genève internationale. Elle a grandement contribué à donner vie au partenariat public-privé en faveur de la Genève internationale. Parmi ses initiatives marquantes, le lancement de « Genève demain », une démarche de sensibilisation à la Genève internationale menée auprès de l’ensemble des secteurs d’activités concernés par l’accueil.

1998-2002 : les premières années de présidence d’Ivan Pictet

Sous la présidence d’Ivan Pictet, la Fondation pour Genève poursuit la démarche de sensibilisation « Genève Demain » dont le point d’orgue est l’organisation au Palais des Nations du colloque “Construisons ensemble la Genève de Demain”. 200 personnes y participent et s’accordent sur une série d’actions à mettre en œuvre dès 1999 pour développer les conditions-cadres de la Genève internationale. Le secrétariat de la Fondation pour Genève est alors dirigé par Tatjana Darani.

Parmi les événements marquants de ses premières années de présidence, la Fondation pour Genève co-organise avec l’Office des Nations Unies à Genève un week-end portes ouvertes au Palais des Nations, ainsi que la soirée « Geneva 2000 », à l’occasion de l’assemblée générale extraordinaire de l’ONU sur le développement économique et social.

En 1999, Daisy Pictet et Christiane Steck créent le Cercle Genevois-Conjoints de Diplomates, qui deviendra plus tard le Cercle international de la Fondation pour Genève.

2002-2010 : une riche palette d’activités

Ivan Pictet cède la présidence de la Fondation pour Genève à Guillaume Pictet en 2002. La Fondation participe à la campagne de sensibilisation en faveur de l’adhésion Suisse à l’ONU.

Dans les années 2000, la Fondation pour Genève s’associe aux organisations internationales et co-organise plusieurs anniversaires et journées portes ouvertes.

- 2004 : Participation au 50ème anniversaire du CERN.

- 2005 : Partenariat avec l’Office des Nations Unies à Genève autour du 60ème anniversaire des Nations Unies.

- 2009 : Participation à la campagne de sensibilisation en faveur de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC) et de l’extension de son bâtiment.

La Fondation pour Genève participe en 2006 au lancement par Mandat International et le Département de l’instruction publique du programme « Eduki » sur la Genève internationale pour les élèves du Cycle d’orientation et du secondaire.

La Fondation pour Genève publie et diffuse en 2007 le premier Cahier de l’Observatoire, « Soft Gouvernance », dédié aux changements de paradigmes dans la gouvernance mondiale.

En 2008, la Fondation pour Genève prend sous son égide le Club Diplomatique de Genève et participe à son renouveau, aux côtés des autorités fédérales et genevoises.

En 2009, Guillaume Pictet remet la présidence à Ivan Pictet.

2010 – 2022 : une portée nationale

La Fondation pour Genève poursuit son soutien aux journées portes ouvertes des organisations internationales, à l’ONU (2014 et 2017) et au Bureau international du Travail (2019).

L’Observatoire de la Fondation pour Genève lance en 2013 une série d’études sur l’impact de la Genève internationale sur l’arc lémanique et dès 2019, une série consacrée aux pôles d’excellence de la Genève internationale.

À l’occasion du bicentenaire de l’entrée de Genève dans la Confédération en 2015, la Fondation pour Genève organise la tournée « Genève à la Rencontre des Suisses » pour présenter le travail des organisations internationales basées à Genève à la population suisse. Genève s’est présentée, le temps d’une journée, dans 43 villes suisses ainsi qu’à Vaduz au Liechtenstein.

La Fondation s’engage également à sensibiliser la population au 17 Objectifs de développement durable (ODD), Établis en 2015 par les Nations Unies, à travers une exposition itinérante.

Ivan Pictet quitte la Fondation pour Genève en 2020 après l’avoir animée pendant près de 20 ans. Marc Pictet lui succède.

Historique du Réseau FPG

Le Cercle International

Daisy Pictet et Christiane Steck créent en 1999 le Cercle Genevois-Conjoints de Diplomates. 60 Genevoises se mobilisent pour l’accueil des conjoints de diplomates.

Françoise Demole et Pierrette Waldvogel lancent en 2003 le groupe « Multi.Rencontres », destiné aux épouses des dirigeants de sociétés multinationales. En 2007, le groupe compte une centaine de participantes issues du secteur international privé.

En 2008, le Cercle Genevois-Conjoints de Diplomates fusionne avec le groupe Multi.Rencontres et prend le nom de « Cercle des Conjoints ». Il s’adresse aux conjoints de diplomates et des Directeurs généraux de sociétés multinationales.

Florence Notter-Daugny prend la présidence du Cercle des Conjoints en 2010. De nouveaux membres succèdent aux fondatrices pour animer les différents groupes d’activités.

Le Cercle des Conjoints change de nom en 2012 et devient le « Cercle international de la Fondation pour Genève ». Il a pour but de faciliter l’intégration des Internationaux dans la vie genevoise et est destiné aux femmes actives professionnellement. En 2021, le Cercle s’ouvre également aux hommes et propose de nouvelles activités.

Le Club Diplomatique de Genève

Le Club Diplomatique de Genève a été créé en 1976 à l'initiative de jeunes diplomates désireux d'établir des liens avec des personnalités internationales de passage à Genève.

En 2008, la Fondation pour Genève donne un nouveau départ au Club Diplomatique, avec le patronage des Autorités fédérales et genevoises, et de l’Office des Nations Unies à Genève. Il s'installe à la Pastorale et son Secrétariat est assuré par la Fondation pour Genève. L’ancien Conseiller d’État Carlo Lamprecht est élu à la présidence. Un premier événement est organisé au CERN suivi deux mois plus tard d’un dîner avec le Secrétaire général des Nations Unies Ban Ki-Moon.

L’ancien Ambassadeur de Suisse Raymond Loretan succède en 2016 à l'Ambassadeur Luzius Wasescha à la tête de la présidence. Le Club prend son autonomie opérationnelle en se dotant de son propre secrétariat, dirigé désormais par son comité.

Le Réseau d’accueil

Diane Zoelly constitue en 1999 un groupe de bénévoles nommé « Réseau d’accueil » et chargé de développer diverses activités en faveur d’une meilleure intégration des nouveaux arrivants de la Genève internationale. Animées par les membres bénévoles de la Fondation pour Genève, la Welcome Line et la Bourse d’échanges linguistiques sont lancées.
La première fête de l’Escalade pour les internationaux est organisée en 2003 sur le domaine de La Pastorale.

Le Réseau d'Accueil est transféré en 2007 au CAGI qui en assure désormais la coordination, avec le soutien des 30 bénévoles de la Fondation pour Genève.

En 2020, Diane Zoelly a passé le flambeau de la présidence du Réseau d’Accueil à Juliette van Berchem.

Fondation Eduki

La Fondation pour Genève participe en 2006 au lancement par Mandat International et le Département de l’instruction publique du programme « Eduki » sur la Genève internationale pour les élèves du Cycle d’orientation et du secondaire.

À partir de 2014, la Fondation soutient le développement de la Fondation Eduki. La présidence est confiée à Martine Brunschwig Graf, ancienne Conseillère nationale.

En 2022, Martine Brunschwig Graf cède la présidence à Francine de Planta.

Réseau FPG