Activity

Laureate 1997
Sadako Ogata

1997 Prize awarded to Sadako Ogata, United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees

Wednesday, September 24, 1997 at 5pm, Geneva Conservatory of Music

The 1997 Prize of the Foundation for Geneva was awarded to Mrs. Sadako Ogata, United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees, during a ceremony at the Geneva Conservatory of Music, in the presence of Mr. Dominique Micheli, President of the Foundation for Geneva, and Mr. Jean-Philippe Maitre, President of the State Council of the Republic and Canton of Geneva

In his speech, Mr. Yves Oltramare, previous laureate of the Foundation for Geneva Prize, praised the prestigious diplomatic career and the brilliant academic career of Mrs. Sadako Ogata before praising her for having succeeded in making the international world unanimous, by making herself admired, respected and … loved. This prize is a reward for a life’s work dedicated to strengthening human solidarity and the fundamental right of every human being to live at home in peace and dignity.

Mrs. Ogada’s work at the head of the Office of the High Commissioner for Refugees since 1991 has illustrated in a particularly convincing way Geneva’s reputation as an international center for humanitarian action.

The ceremony was followed by a vin d’honneur offered at the Foyer du Grand Théâtre by the State Council of the Republic and Canton of Geneva and the Administrative Council of the City of Geneva.

FPG Network

Prix de la Fondation

Lauréate 1997
Sadako Ogata

Prix 1997 remis à Sadako Ogata, Haut Commissaire des Nations Unies pour les Réfugiés

Mercredi 24 septembre 1997 à 17h, Conservatoire de Musique de Genève

Le Prix 1997 de la Fondation pour Geève a été décernée à Mme Sadako Ogata, Haut Commissaire des Nations Unies pour les Réfugiés, lors d’une cérémonie au Conservatoire de Musique de Genève, en présence de M. Dominique Micheli, Président de la Fondation pour Genève et de M. Jean-Philippe Maitre, Président du Conseil d’Etat de la République et canton de Genève

Dans son discours, M. Yves Oltramare, précédent lauréat du Prix de la Fondation pour Genève, a salué la prestigieuse carrière diplomatique et le brillant parcours universitaire de Mme Sadako Ogata avant de faire l’éloge de celle qui a réussi à faire l’unanimité dans le monde international, en se faisant admirer, respecter et …aimer. Ce prix récompense l’oeuvre d’une vie consacrée à renforcer la solidarité humaine ainsi que le droit fondamental de tout être humain à vivre chez lui en paix et dans la dignité.

L’activité de Mme Ogada à la tête du Haut Commissariat pour les Réfugiés depuis 1991 a illustré de manière particulièrement convaincante la réputation de Genève comme centre international de l’action humanitaire.

La cérémonie a été suivie d’un vin d’honneur offert au Foyer du Grand Théâtre par le Conseil d’Etat de la République et canton de Genève et le Conseil administratif de la Ville de Genève.

Réseau FPG