Activity

Laureate 2020
Patrick Chappatte

2020 Prize awarded to Patrick Chappatte, Press Cartoonist

Wednesday 28th October 2020 at 18:30, Victoria Hall, Geneva

In 2020, the Foundation Board decided to reward Patrick Chappatte, a renowned cartoonist advocating for the freedom of expression and of the press, with the Fondation pour Geneve prize for his unique and considerable contributions to Geneva.

Patrick Chappatte obtained international esteem by publishing his drawings in highly prestigious newspapers such as the New York Times and the International Herald Tribune. His critical approach to reality invokes thought amongst his readers and holds the capacity to transcend boundaries and languages.

Due to the ongoing health crisis, the 27th awarding ceremony will be streamed. The footage is be uploaded to the Fondation pour Genève website, as well as on the Léman Bleu.

Lauréat 2020

Patrick Chappatte was born in Pakistan in 1967 and raised by a Lebanese mother and Swiss father. He grew up in Singapore, and settled down in Geneva, where he lived out the early days of his career before drawing for Hebdo, la Tribune de Genève, and Die Weltwoche. In 1995, Chappatte started working for the International Herald Tribune, and later for the New York times. On three separate counts, he won the Overseas Press Club of America’s Thomas Nast Award for the best cartoons regarding international affairs, making him the first Swiss to receive this prestigious reward (2012, 2015, and 2018). Now, he draws editorial cartoons for Le Temps, the NZZ am Sonntag (Zurich), Der Spiegel (Germany) and additionally contributes to the Canard Enchaîné (France) and the Boston Globe (United States).

In 2006, Kofi Annan, the previous Secretary-General of the United Nations and Plantu, a caricaturist from Le Monde, invited Chappatte to launch the network “Cartooning for Peace”. This platform debuted in Paris in 2006, and now accounts for over 200 editorial cartoonists. “Cartooning for Peace” allowed Chappatte, Plantu and Marie Heuzé (a previous spokesperson for the United Nations in Geneva), to reinforce values of freedom of expression and of the press. In 2012, the network awarded a prize by the City of Geneva for their cartoonists’ distinguished bravery. Kofi Annan was the honorary president of the Swiss Foundation.

Medias

FPG Network

Prix de la Fondation

Lauréat 2020
Patrick Chappatte

Prix 2020 remis à Patrick Chappatte, Dessinateur de presse

Mercredi 28 octobre 2020 à 18h30, Victoria Hall, Genève

Le Conseil de Fondation a décidé de décerner le Prix 2020 à Monsieur Patrick Chappatte, Dessinateur de presse, pour sa contribution exceptionnelle au rayonnement de Genève et pour son engagement en faveur de la liberté de presse et d’expression.

Patrick Chappatte a acquis une renommée internationale en publiant ses dessins dans des journaux prestigieux à l’instar du New York Times et de l’International Herald Tribune. Son regard critique sur l’actualité, sa capacité à toucher les gens et à les faire réfléchir, transcendent les frontières et les langues.

Du fait de la personnalité exceptionnelle du lauréat et en raison de la crise sanitaire actuelle, cette 27ème édition du Prix sera télévisée, retransmise en direct sur le site Internet de la Fondation pour Genève et en différé sur Léman Bleu.

Né en 1967 au Pakistan d’une mère libanaise et d’un père suisse, Patrick Chappatte a grandi à Singapour, puis s’est installé à Genève. Il débute sa carrière à La Suisse avant de dessiner pour l’Hebdo, la Tribune de Genève et Die Weltwoche. En 1995, il travaille d’abord pour le International Herald Tribune puis pour le New York Times. Il a reçu à 3 reprises le prestigieux Prix du dessin de presse de l’Overseas Press Club of America de New York (2012, 2015 et 2018), faisant de lui le seul Suisse à avoir reçu cette distinction. Il est actuellement le dessinateur de presse du journal Le Temps, de la NZZ am Sonntag (Zurich), du magazine Der Spiegel (Allemagne), et contribue également au Canard Enchaîné (France) et au Boston Globe (Etats-Unis).

En 2006, à l’invitation de Kofi Annan, alors Secrétaire général des Nations Unies, et Plantu, caricaturiste du quotidien Le Monde, lance à Paris le réseau « Cartooning for Peace », qui compte aujourd’hui plus de deux cents dessinateurs de presse. Afin de renforcer ce mouvement et promouvoir la liberté d’expression, Chappatte, Plantu et Marie Heuzé, ancienne porte-parole des Nations Unies à Genève, créent la Fondation de droit suisse « Cartooning for Peace ». Depuis 2012, celle-ci décerne avec la Ville de Genève un Prix biennal saluant le courage de dessinatrices et dessinateurs. Kofi Annan était le président d’honneur de la fondation suisse.

Medias

Réseau FPG