Foundation Prize

Laureate 2024
Fabiola Gianotti

Prix 2024 awarded to Fabiola Gianotti, Director-General of CERN

Monday May 13, 2024 at 6.30pm at the Victoria Hall

The Fondation pour Genève has chosen to award its 30th prize to Fabiola Gianotti, Director-General of CERN, in recognition of her exceptional commitment to Geneva’s international reputation. From the realization of the ATLAS experiment at the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) to the discovery of the Higgs boson and the creation of the Science Portal, Fabiola Gianotti has contributed to a number of major projects that have made Geneva a leading player in the world of science and in the diplomatic arena. Her dynamism, her passion for the transmission of knowledge, democratization of science and openness to all public make her a real inspiration for the younger generations.

“I am extremely honored to receive the Fondation pour Genève prize. The development of science and technology, openness, collaboration across borders and the training of young generations are fundamental values at CERN, which are also deeply rooted in international Geneva. The fact that these values, which are so dear to me, are being recognized is particularly meaningful to me.” – Fabiola Gianotti

The ceremony will take place on Monday May 13, 2024 at 6.30pm at the Victoria Hall.

Registration will open in March 2024. Subscribe to our newsletter to get all the information !

Fabiola Gianotti is Director-General of CERN in Geneva. She is the first woman to hold this position in CERN’s history. In November 2019, she was unanimously appointed for a second term, the first time in the organization’s history that a Director General has been elected for a full second mandate.

After obtaining a PhD in particle physics in 1989 from the University of Milan, she pursued her career as a research physicist at CERN from 1996. She contributed to several experiments at CERN, in particular the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) project as part of the ATLAS experiment. She played a major role in the discovery of the Higgs boson in 2012, when she led ATLAS. In 2018, she initiated the Science Portal project, a center dedicated to science communication and education, to welcome a greater number of visitors and spark the curiosity of future generations towards fundamental research.

Fabiola Gianotti is an associate member of the US Academy of Sciences, the French Academy of Sciences, the Royal Irish Academy, the Royal Society of London, the Italian Academy of Sciences and the Swiss Academy of Engineering Sciences. She has been made a Knight of the Grand Cross of the Order of Merit of the Italian Republic, and has received the Special Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics (2013), the Enrico Fermi Prize of the Italian Physical Society (2013), the Wilhelm Exner Medal (Vienna, 2017), and the Tate Medal for International Leadership de l’American Institute of Physics (2019).

FPG Network

Prix de la Fondation

Lauréate 2024
Fabiola Gianotti

Prix 2024 remis à Fabiola Gianotti, Directrice générale du CERN

Lundi 13 mai 2024 à 18h30 au Victoria Hall

La Fondation pour Genève a choisi de remettre son 30e prix à Madame Fabiola Gianotti, Directrice générale du CERN, pour honorer son engagement exceptionnel en faveur du rayonnement international de Genève. Réalisation de l’expérience ATLAS au Grand collisionneur de hadrons (LHC), découverte du boson de Higgs, concrétisation du Portail de la science, Fabiola Gianotti a ainsi contribué à des projets majeurs qui font rayonner Genève dans les plus hautes sphères scientifiques et diplomatiques. Dynamisme, passion pour la transmission du savoir, démocratisation de la science et ouverture à tous les publics en font un véritable modèle pour les jeunes générations.

« Je suis extrêmement honorée de recevoir le prix de la Fondation pour Genève. Le développement de la science et de la technologie, l’ouverture, la collaboration par-delà les frontières et la formation des jeunes générations sont des valeurs fondamentales du CERN, qui sont aussi profondément ancrées dans la Genève internationale. Le fait que ces valeurs, qui me sont si chères, soient reconnues, me touche particulièrement. » – Fabiola Gianotti

La cérémonie se tiendra le lundi 13 mai 2024 à 18h30 au Victoria Hall.

Les inscriptions pour cet événement ouvriront en mars 2024. Inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter pour recevoir les informations !

Fabiola Gianotti est la Directrice générale du CERN à Genève. Elle est la première femme à occuper ce poste dans l’histoire du CERN. En novembre 2019, elle est nommée à l’unanimité pour un second mandat, première fois dans l’histoire de l’organisation qu’un directeur général est élu pour un deuxième mandat complet.

Après avoir obtenu un doctorat en physique des particules en 1989 à l’Université de Milan, elle poursuit sa carrière de physicienne de recherche au CERN dès 1996. Elle a contribué à plusieurs expériences au CERN, en particulier au projet de Grand collisionneur de hadrons (LHC) dans le cadre de l’expérience ATLAS. Elle a joué un rôle majeur dans la découverte du boson de Higgs en 2012, lorsqu’elle dirigeait ATLAS. En 2018, elle initie le projet du Portail de la science, un centre consacré à la communication et à l’éducation scientifiques, afin d’accueillir un plus grand nombre de visiteurs et de susciter la curiosité des générations futures envers la recherche fondamentale.

Fabiola Gianotti est membre associée de l’Académie des sciences des États-Unis, de l’Académie française des sciences, de l’Académie royale irlandaise, de la Royal Society of London, de l’Académie italienne des sciences et de l’Académie suisse des sciences techniques. Elle a été faite chevalier de grand-croix de l’ordre du Mérite de la République italienne et a reçu le Special Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics (2013), le prix Enrico Fermi de la Société italienne de physique (2013), la médaille Wilhelm Exner (Vienne, 2017), et la Tate Medal for International Leadership de l’American Institute of Physics (2019).

Réseau FPG